Brückeninspektion

AiviewGroup nutzt den Aibot X6 für Brückeninspektionen

Brückeninspektion mit dem Aibot X6

Mit dem UAV (unbemanntes Flugobjekt) Aibot X6 gewinnt das italienische Unternehmen AiviewGroup hochpräzise Daten für die Brückeninspektion und kann somit jährlich mehr als 4000 Bauten zu vermessen, inspizieren und warten.

Als erste Nation mit Straßen speziell für motorisierte Fahrzeuge, plante und baute Italien 1924 die erste autostrade. Besitzer dieser Straßen ist der italienische Staat, doch werden die Straßen von privaten Firmen betrieben und instandgesetzt. Die größte dieser Firmen ist die Autostrade per l’Italia, die ein Streckennetz in Italien von über 3408 km betreibt und über 5000km Autobahnnetz von Brasilien bis Indien betreut.

Auf die 3408km verteilen sich mehr als 4200 Brücken, Viadukte und Tunnel, welche von der Betreiberfirma Autostrade per l’Italia überprüft werden müssen. Das italienische Gesetz schreibt eine visuelle Inspektion im Abstand von sechs Monaten vor und eine jährlich stattfindende Kontrolle durch einen Ingenieur. Vor diese Aufgabe gestellt, suchte Autostrade per l’Italia nach einer modernen und effizienten Lösung, um die Inspektionen durchzuführen und konnte die AiviewGroup als Partner gewinnen.

AiviewGroup Arbeiter mit dem Aibot X6 

„Wir führen bereits seit 2012 UAV Brückeninspektionen mit dem Aibot X6 durch,“ so Nicola Marietti, Brückeninspektor der AiviewGroup. „Wir haben einen Visionär in diesem Kunden gefunden und haben einige Erfolge bei der Entwicklung der spezifischen Software und Methoden für das Management von Brückeninspektionen mit unbemannten Flugobjekten als Hauptwerkzeug gehabt."

Mit einer speziellen Halterung, die oben auf dem UAS (unmanned aerial System) montiert wird, kann die Crew mit dem Aibot X6 Nahaufnahmen vom Brückenboden und schwer zugänglichen Stellen erstellen. Dabei garantiert die Arbeit des professionellen Piloten die Sicherheit der Inspektionscrew und ermöglicht diesen, Daten zu sammeln, welche in ein eigens von der AiviewGroup entwickelten Algorithmus eingespeist werden. Die Software überprüft dabei automatisch die abgebildeten Bauteile auf Fehler.

"Wir haben ein klar definiertes Verfahren, um besser zu verstehen, welche Arten von Problemen bei der Brücke auftreten könnten und wie wir dies dem Kunden melden können", sagt Marietti. „Der Algorithmus stellt den Zustand verschiedener Elemente der Infrastruktur dar. Wir überprüfen das Bauwerk auf Probleme im Zement, bei Metallbauteilen, sowie auf Schäden durch Vegetation und allgemeine Umwelteinflüsse. "

Obwohl die Software die Analyse und Berichterstattung automatisiert durchführt, gibt es in dem Arbeitsablauf dennoch eine große menschliche Komponente, die die autonom erstellten Berichte um die Expertise von Bauingenieuren und Statikern erweitert.

Ai Inspection

Die AiviewGroup hat die Cloud-Plattform Ai Inspection entwickelt, in der das Unternehmen alle Bauwerke ihrer Kunden verwaltet. Der gesamte Workflow einer Inspektion, von der Planung bis zur Analyse vor Ort, kann innerhalb dieser Software erfolgen.

Ai Inspection 

Die technologische Herangehensweise der AiviewGroup und ihrer Partner ermöglicht es, Brücken zu inspizieren, ohne den Verkehr zu blockieren. Während einer gewöhnlichen Inspektion muss mindestens eine Fahrbahn geschlossen werden, um die Brücke zu begutachten. Darüber hinaus erfordert der Einsatz eines UAVs eine viel kleinere Crew, welches zusätzlich die Kosten für den Kunden reduziert. Während für die Inspektion mit einem UAV lediglich eine dreiköpfige Crew benötigt wird, ist der Material- und Personeneinsatz bei einer „klassischen“ Inspektion entschieden höher. Neben einem Fahrzeug um die Fahrspur abzusperren und der dazugehörigen Sicherheitsbesatzung von sechs Personen wird auch ein spezieller Kranwagen benötigt, der die Arbeitsbühne mit dem Ingenieur über das Geländer hebt. Im Gegensatz dazu arbeitet die Besatzung des UAVs unterhalb der Brücke und kann zeiteffizient die Inspektion durchführen, ohne den Verkehr zu behindern.

Ai Inspection

Trotz all dieser Vorteile durch eine automatisierte Inspektion und Auswertung, ist die AiviewGroup darauf bedacht, den hohen qualitativen Anspruch beizubehalten und mit einem Team von Spezialisten die gewonnen Daten zu verifizieren.

"Das Risiko ist bei jedem Flug hoch und wir fliegen zwischen vier und sechs Stunden an einem Tag, an dem wir Inspektionen durchführen", sagt Marietti. "Wir bewegen uns naturgemäß den ganzen Tag in einer schwierigen Umgebung. Es ist unmöglich, diesen Job ohne Spezialisten durchzuführen. "

Jede Inspektion läuft nach demselben Muster ab. Bevor das UAV überhaupt abhebt, werden 30 Prozent der Zeit und Mühe in die Flugplanung investiert. Erst vor Ort bilden der Multikopter und die Monitor-Station für die Echtzeitauswertung den Arbeitsmittelpunkt. Der Flug vor Ort nimmt lediglich 10 Prozent des Arbeitspensums in Anspruch, wohingegen die verbleibenden 60 Prozent bei der Nachbearbeitung, Auswertung und Präsentation der gewonnen Daten aufgebracht werden.

UAVs zu nutzen um den Zustand von infrastrukturellen Konstruktionen zu erfassen, ist ein Ausblick darauf, wie Ingenieure zukünftig arbeiten werden. Diese Arbeitsabläufe neu zu definieren und modernste Technik einzusetzen, bricht mit den traditionellen Methoden Daten zu gewinnen, jedoch können Wege, wie sie von der AiviewGroup eingeschlagen worden sind qualitativ höherwertige Informationen für Kunden und Ingenieure gewinnen.

Brückeninspektion mit dem Aibot X6

Diese hochwertigen Daten basieren auf traditionellen Bildsensoren als Informationsquelle. Neben dieser Methode, gibt es noch weitere Möglichkeiten, einen UAV mit verschiedenster Sensortechnologien zu kombinieren, um umfassend Daten sammeln, die den Zustand einer Konstruktion anzeigen. Zum Beispiel die Verwendung von speziell für den Einsatz an Multikoptern angepassten LiDAR-Sensoren, um hochgenaue 3D-Modelle zu erstellen oder Thermalkameras, um Defekte zu erkennen, die Hitze durch Reibung verursachen.
Multispektrale oder hyperspektrale Sensoren erlauben es den Kunden, den Fingerabdruck eines Materials zu erhalten und die Materialeigenschaften des erfassten Gebietes zu analysieren, so dass Sie Einblicke in den Aufbau, wie auch in die mineralischen Eigenschaften des Werkstoffes erhalten.

Um den autonomen Charakter von UAS weiter auszubauen, besteht sogar die Möglichkeit den Flug mit Hilfe der Teach-In-Funktion zu automatisieren, so dass der Copter den gleichen Weg wiederholt abfliegen kann um vergleichbare Daten derselben Areale zu generieren.

Mit der Möglichkeit nahezu jeden Sensor an dem Aibot X6 zu montieren und in Ihren Worflow zu integrieren, ist der industrielle UAV mehr als nur eine fliegende Kameraplattform. Es gibt eine Vielzahl an Möglichkeiten, das „Auge am Himmel“ auch für Ihre Zwecke einzusetzen um hochpräzise Daten für jeden Situation zu gewinnen.

Aibot X6

Mehr Informationen zum UAV Aibot X6.

Kontakt

Kontaktieren Sie das Aibotix Sales Team und erhalten Sie detaillierte Informationen zu Produkten und Serviceleistungen.

Aibotix on Youtube

Watch the latest videos of Aibotix on YouTube.

Bridge inspection

AiviewGroup using the Aibot X6 for bridge inspections

Bridgeinspection with Aibot X6

Using the UAV (unmanned aerial vehicle) Aibot X6 to create high precise data for bridge inspections, customer company AiviewGroup is getting ahead in surveying, maintaining and inspecting more than 4000 infrastructural buildings each year.

As the first country with roads constructed especially for motor vehicles, Italy introduced the autostrade. First built in 1921 the high-speed roadways have continued to expand ever since. Owned by the Italian government but maintained and operated by a group of concessionaires for profit. The largest of these companies is the Autostrade per I’Italia, servicing 3,408km in Italy and managing over 5000km of roadways from Brazil to India.

Within its network of 3,408 km roadways, Autostrade per l’Italia has to maintain more than 4,200 bridges, viaducts and tunnels. Every bridge must be visually inspected twice a year by law with a more in-depth inspection with an engineer on a yearly cycle. With this large number of bridges to inspect in mind, Autostrade per l’Italia was looking for more efficient ways and started a collaboration with AiviewGroup on a robotic solution.

AiviewGroup crew with the Aibot X6 

“We have been doing UAV bridge inspections with the Aibot X6 since 2012,” says Nicola Marietti, bridge inspector with AiviewGroup. “We found the visionary within this customer and have built some success while developing specific software and methods for managing bridge inspections with a UAS at the center of the information technology solution.”

The special mount for a camera on the top of the UAS (unmanned aerial system) Aibot X6 allows the crew close-up looks under the deck and in tight spots.  The use of professional pilots to control the UAV ensures safety for the controlling crew underneath the bridge and to process the collected data, AiviewGroup has developed an algorithm to evaluate the taken pictures and detect issues against a library of defect taxonomy.

 “We have a well-defined procedure to better understand what kind of problem might be occurring with the bridge and how to report that to the customer,” states Marietti. “The algorithm provides a status for different elements of the infrastructure. We check for problems with cement, iron of the bridge, vegetation, and the environment in general.”

Even though the software takes care of the analysis and reporting, there is still a heavy human element in the workflow for conducting each bridge survey and verifying the autonomously created reports with the knowledge of a civil and structural engineer.

Ai Inspection
 

The AiviewGroup has created the cloud platform Ai Inspection in which the company manages all assets of their customers. The entire workflow of an inspection, from the planning to the fieldwork analysis can be done within this software.

Ai Inspection
 

The technological approach the AiviewGroup and their partners came up with makes it possible to inspect bridges without shutting down the traffic. A usual inspection would require at least one line to be shut down in order to inspect the bridge. Furthermore UAS require a much smaller crew which reduces the costs for the client. Instead of a special highway vehicle and three-person crew with an arm and bucket for placing the inspector under the bridge, and the corresponding six-person traffic safety personnel, the UAS is all done below traffic with a three-person crew. A further cost saving comes from the reduced time it takes for each inspection using UAS.

Ai Inspection
 

With all these advantages in mind, AiviewGroup insists that when it comes to robotics and automation a team with specialties and professionalism is always required for the demands of high precise inspection and analysis.

“The risk is high on every flight and we fly between four and six hours in a day when we go out to do inspections,” says Marietti. “We move methodically in a difficult environment for the whole day. It’s impossible to do this job without specialized people.”

Each inspection follows the same pattern, before taking off with the UAV roughly 30percent of the time and effort are spent on planning the flight. On the spot the multicopter is the main tool, along with the monitor-station for real-time evaluation during the flight. The actual flight takes up to about 10 percent of the overall mission and the remaining 60 percent are spent on the post processing, evaluation and presentation of the collected data.

To use UAV and other automated data collection tools for surveying and inspecting infrastructural constructions is a big step up in ways engineers will work in the future. Redefining these workflows with the newest technology is a disruption with traditional surveying but the data that can be collected now makes this approach by AiviewGroup a much more informative input for clients and engineers.

Bridge inspection with the Aibot X6 

This high quality data is based on traditional imagery sensors as the source of information. With these methods already working, there are still more options to combine the possibilities of an UAV and sensor technologies which collect comprehensive data to evaluate the state of a construction. For example the use of hexacopter platform fitting light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors in order to create high-accuracy 3D models or thermal sensors to detect defects causing heat due friction. Multispectral or hyperspectral sensors would allow customers to get the materials fingerprint and to analyze the material properties of the area that has been captured, giving you insight on detailing species type and even mineral properties of the ground below.

To urge the autonomous character of UAS there are even opportunities to automate the flight by using the teach-in function, so the copter can repeatedly fly the same way to collect comparable data of the same areas.

Giving you the possibilities to adapt nearly every sensor you could need onto the UAV and into your workflow, make sure you think of industrial UAV as a sensor platform rather than just an imaging platform. There are many more possible applications and insights when the “eye in the sky” is given superpowers that make it capable of sensing and capturing far more than we can see.

Aibot X6

More information about Aibot X6 UAV and how the multi-sensor platform can make your business fly.

Contact Aibotix

Contact our sales team and get detailed information about Aibotix products and services.

Aibotix on Youtube

Watch the latest videos of Aibotix on YouTube.

Case Studies

Read how customers from around the world are putting our diverse solutions into action to shape smart change.

Contact Leica Geosystems?

Find your Leica Geosystems contact for sales, support and technical service.